Graduating players, Nick Doyle, Brody Moffatt, Cody Thompson, Colin Ahern, Matthew Kasowski, Anthony Bilka and Jack Kennedy pose for a photo during the Wolverines Awards.

Wolverines Celebrate Organization At Year End Awards Banquet

The Waywayseecappo Wolverines held their annual awards banquet on Sunday night to recognize the success of their players and organization.

Nearly 120 people took in the evening which saw community members, parents, sponsors, billet families, team staff, rink staff, and players enjoy an evening of celebrating the Wolverines.

Following dinner and speeches from players, parents, billet parents and staff, volunteers were recognized for the countless hours they put into Wolverines game days and beyond.

Nine player awards were handed out with the winners of each award listed below.

MVP – Conrad Phillips

Top Scorer – Jaymes Knee

Top Forward – Conrad Phillips

Top Defenceman – Nick Doyle

Top Goaltender – Colin Ahern

Rookie of the Year – Reagan Rabbit

Unsung Hero of the Year – Brody Moffatt

Community Minded Player of the Year – Matthew Kasowski

Scholastic Player of the Year – Liam Tereposky


Utilized in every situation, 19-year-old Forward, Conrad Phillips was named the teams’ Most Valuable Player. In his second season with the Wolverines, Phillips center’s the teams’ top line and is used on the powerplay and penalty kill. Phillips uses his speed and hockey smarts to do it all for the Wolverines.
For the second straight season, Wolverines Forward, Jaymes Knee took home the teams’ Top Scorer Award. In 56 games this season, Knee scored 19 goals and 39 assists for his team-leading 58 points. Knee finished off the regular season 13th in league scoring.
20-year-old Goaltender, Colin Ahern joined the Wolverines just prior to the January 10 deadline and has started in all 19 games since then. Colin was recently named an MJHL Star of the Week and has gone 11-6-2-0 with a 2.72 goals-against average and .905 save percentage. For his outstanding play down the stretch, Colin received the Top Goaltender Award.
Another player who is relied on in all situations is Wolverines Captain, Nick Doyle. In his second season with the organization, Doyle led all defencemen in scoring with 12 goals and 34 assists in 59 games. For his outstanding work on the blue-line, Doyle took home The Defenceman of the Year Award.
Joining the Wolverines via trade in the offseason, Matthew Kasowski instantly made an impact in Waywayseecappo and the surrounding community. His selflessness and want to help out in local schools and events earned Matthew The Community Minded Player of the Year Award.
17-year-old Rookie Goaltender, Liam Tereposky juggles his Grade 12 school year with the workload of playing junior hockey. For his dedication to his academics, Tereposky was named The Scholastic Player of the Year.
18-year-old Defender, Reagan Rabbit earned the Wolverines Rookie of the Year award. In his first season with the team, Rabbit scored 6 goals and 6 assists in 53 games. From Ponoka, Alberta, Rabbit’s game continued to grow throughout the regular season.
Graduating 20-year-old Forward, Brody Moffatt took home the team’s Unsung Hero of the Year award. Brody joined the Wolverines in an early-season trade. He leads by example every day and does whatever it takes to win on a nightly basis.
19-year-old Conrad Phillips took home the teams’ Top Forward Award. In his second season with the Wolverines, Phillips is used in all situations and led the team in goal scoring (27) and hit a career-high in points (48).